Tricky double mitre joint

The first time I tried this joint, I ended up in all sorts of bother. Having a saw that cuts true and straight is a must if you plan on doing a lot of these joints, which is why I ditched my not so old Ryobi compound saw, and replaced it with a new Makita LS1040. So precise, and a joy to cut with. Provided my measuring is spot on, the saw cuts 45’s like a dream.

double mitre joint.....tricky little sucker!

double mitre joint…..tricky little sucker!

my new baby

my new baby

 

2 thoughts on “Tricky double mitre joint

  1. Hi there! I’m building a jewelery box with these same joints and I’m having a little trouble figuring out how to connect the joints without damaging anything. Your joints on this table look great so I was hoping you could help me. I’m using red oak that is $7.50/ft so I’m very leery about making mistakes on this one. Any hints or ideas would be more than helpful.

    • Hi John,
      I’m not quite sure what you mean about damaging the joints, but let me say this…. I have never had a lesson in woodwork, and have only started building my own stands and tables in the past 12-18 months. I saw this mitre joint on a Japanese stand I bought many many years ago, and just stared at it for years trying to figure it out, then I came across a fellow bonsai blogger from the USA by the name Al Kepler who also made his own stands. His work is first class, and after reading the post linked below, I plucked up the courage to finally attempt this joint…. Have a read and you should be good to go. His pics are very clear and self explanatory.
      Good Luck
      http://bonsaial.wordpress.com/display-stands/

Leave a Reply

